Eight Anime Films Submitted for Consideration for the Animated Feature Oscar

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the list of 25 films that have been submitted for consideration in the Animated Feature Film category for the 91st Academy Awards. A maximum of five films from the list will receive the nomination.

Eight anime films are included in the list:

  • Naoko Yamada and Kyoto Animation’s Liz and the Blue Bird
  • Nobuyuki Takeuchi, Akiyuki Simbo, and SHAFT’s Fireworks
  • Masaaki Yuasa and Science SARU’s Lu over the wall and Night is Short, Walk On Girl
  • Isamu Imakake and HS Pictures Studio’s The Laws of the Universe: Part 1
  • Studio 4°C and Ankama’s MFKZ
  • Mari Okada and P.A. Works’ Maquia – When the Promised Flower Blooms
  • Mamoru Hosoda and Studio Chizu’s Mirai

The Academy will reveal the nominations on January 22, 2019. The 91st annual Academy Awards will be held on February 24, 2019.

Source: ANN

English Cast for The Laws of the Universe Anime Film Part 0

Religious group Happy Science has announced the English cast for its film The Laws of the Universe Part 0, (UFO Gakuen no Himitsu).

The English cast includes:

  • Jennifer Beals is Inkar
  • Dylan McDermott is Yoake Suguru
  • Tom Kenny is the Ummo alien
  • Fred Tatasciore is the Reptilian
  • Josh Keaton is Ray
  • Kari Wahlgren is Anna
  • Yuri Lowenthal is Tyler
  • Hynden Walch is Halle
  • Roger Craig Smith is Eisuke

The film is holding its world premiere in Los Angeles on September 26, 2015. Eleven Arts will then screen the film in selected theaters in the U.S. and Canada starting on October 2, 2015. The film will open in Japan on October 10, 2015.

Source: ANN