Japan’s Menstrual Hero Returns in New Little Miss P Release From Yen Press

Little Miss P has gained wide attention in Japan for dealing with the often-taboo topic of menstruation. The first volume of the series was published in-print and digitally by Yen Press last in 2019. A Japanese live-action film based on the manga is also set to be produced.

Little Miss P: The Second Day is available now in-print and digitally from Yen Press’ online partners.

Because everyone’s cycle is different, there’s a Seiri-chan (or period) for each person. But they all look (more or less) the same, so it’s easier to call them “Seiri-chan” as a group.

When that Seiri-chan knocks on your door (or climbs through your window), it could be good or bad news. If it’s your first time meeting her, it means your periods just started. It means you’re not pregnant, as well. Little Miss P depicts this emotional rollercoaster with poignancy and an insightfulness that makes this release an ideal example of “essay” manga that realistically deal with the trials and tribulations of emotions and a variety of life experiences.

It’s that time of month, and you know what that means… a visit from Little Miss P. She always seems to show up at just the wrong time, generally armed with a heavy dose of fatigue and poised to deliver a barrage of beatings that leave her hosts physically and mentally exhausted. Though Little Miss P is often met with dread and resignation, the realities of a woman’s period are widely misunderstood-especially by those who haven’t been subjected to her gut punches on a monthly basis. Join Little Miss P-along with Mr. Libido, Mr. Virginity, and Little Miss PMS-as she visits women in a variety of circumstances, advising, harassing, comforting, and delivering more than one obligatory Period Punch in this humorous, heartwarming collection.

In the latest volume, like clockwork, Little Miss P has stopped by for another one of her energy-sapping, gut-twisting monthly visits. Despite the difficulties brought about by her arrival, women around the world-and galaxy-must find ways to cope with her (ir)regular visits, a task made easier by the support and understanding of those who care about them. Through frank discussion and a heavy flow of humor, this collection follows Little Miss P as she calls on women from all walks of life. No pop star, action hero, or office worker is exempt from Little Miss P’s formidable Period Punch.

Winners Announced for the 23rd Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize Awards

The Asahi Shimbun paper has announced the winners for the 23rd Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize awards. The awards commemorate the contributions of the manga pioneer Osamu Tezuka by recognizing the manga that best follow his tradition.

Grand Prize

  • Jitterbug The Forties (Sono Ko, Jiruba) by Shinobu Arima

New Creator Prize

  • Areyo Hoshikuzu by Sansuke Yamada

Short Work Prize

  • Little Miss P (Seiri-chan) by Ken Koyama

The committee also awarded the Special Prize to Takao Saito for his contributions to manga culture over the years. Golgo 13, his seminal work about an assassin for hire, marked its 50th anniversary last year.

This year’s committee – consisting of actress Anne Watanabe; author Kazuki Sakuraba; manga creators Osamu Akimoto, Machiko Satonaka, and Tarō Minamoto; professor and scholar Shōhei Chūjō; manga critic Nobunaga Shinbo; and author and manga researcher Tomoko Yamada – selected 11 nominees from titles recommended by specialists and bookstore employees. To be eligible, the manga had to have had a compiled volume published in 2018.

Asahi Shimbun will host an awards ceremony in Tokyo on June 6, 2019. The Grand Prize winner will receive a bronze statue and 2 million yen (about US$18,000), while the other winners will each receive a bronze statue and 1 million yen (about US$9,000).

Source: ANN

Yen Press Announces Seven New Manga Licenses

Yen Press announced the following manga licenses at Anime NYC:

  • Akiyama’s Killing Me! manga
  • Kenji Saito and Shouji Sato’s God Shining Moonlight Howling Moon manga
  • Hina Yamato’s manga adaptation of the Torture Princess: Fremd Torturchen light novels
  • Renji’s Monster & the Beast manga
  • Spica Aoki’s Kaiju Girl Caramelizer manga
  • Ken Koyama’s Little Miss P manga
  • Kurukuruhime’s Yuri Life manga

In addition, Yen Press announced that it will publish a manga anthology titled Whenever Our Eyes Meet…: A Women’s Love Anthology (Ano Musume to Me ga Au Tabi Watashi wa Shakaijin Yuri Anthology).

Source: ANN