Astra Lost in Space Wins 12th Manga Taisho Awards

The executive committee for the 12th Manga Taisho awards announced during the awards ceremony that Kenta Shinohara’s Astra Lost in Space (Kanata no Astra) won this year’s award.

The manga was also nominated for the 23rd Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize in February 2019, and also ranked at #3 on the Kono Manga ga Sugoi! male readers list in December 2018.

Shinohara launched the manga in May 2016 on Shueisha’s Shonen Jump+ app. The manga ended in December 2017, and Shueisha published five compiled book volumes for the manga.

Source: ANN

Shinobu Kaitani to Launch New Manga

This year’s 16th issue of Kodansha’s Young Magazine has announced that Shinobu Kaitani will launch a new manga titled Shin Shinchō Kōki – Nobunaga-kun to Watashi (The New Official History of Nobunaga – Nobunaga and Me) in the magazine’s next issue on March 25, 2019.

The magazine teases the manga’s story as focusing on a high school full of delinquents, and its elite class that has clones of famous warlords from Japan’s Warring States period fighting it out.

Kaitani’s other works include Liar Game, ONE OUTS, and Muteki no Hito.

Source: ANN

Captain Manga to Get a New Sequel Series

Cozy Jōkura will launch a new sequel adaptation of Akio Chiba’s Captain manga in the May 2019 issue of Shueisha’s Grand Jump Mucha magazine on April 24, 2019. The sequel, titled Captain 2, will focus on Shigekazu Kondō, who took over the captain role from Igarashi.

Chiba launched the original Captain manga in the February 1972 issue of Shueisha’s Bessatsu Shonen Jump magazine (later titled Monthly Shonen Jump) and ended it in 1979. The story follows middle school student Takao Taniguchi, who transfers from a school famous for its baseball to a no-name school. There, he is chosen as the baseball club captain.

Source: ANN

VIZ Media Expands Its Manga Catalog With Four New Titles

VIZ Media announced a variety of new publishing acquisitions planned for Fall 2019 and Winter 2019-2020 release during the company’s panel event at Seattle’s Emerald City ComicCon.

The latest titles to join VIZ Media’s manga catalog include The Drifting Classroom: Perfect Edition, an all-new deluxe edition of the horror classic. Also announced was An Incurable Case of Love, a mature romantic comedy from the creator of Happy Marriage?!, Maki Enjoji, and A Tropical Fish Years for Snow, a coming-of-age series about a romance that blossoms between a pair of high school girls. Lastly, Jujutsy Kaisen delivers a world of demons and supernatural action from Shonen Jump.

Additional information on each of these titles will be announced in the near future.

The Drifting Classroom: Perfect Edition by Kazuo Umezz
In the aftermath of a massive earthquake, a Japanese elementary school is transported into a hostile world where the students and teachers are besieged by terrifying creatures and beset by madness. The Perfect Edition features an all-new translation with new content and revised story elements in a deluxe hardcover design that reestablishes Kazuo Umezz’s The Drifting Classroom as a timeless horror classic.

An Incurable Case of Love by Maki Enjoji
After witnessing a handsome and charming young doctor saving a stranger’s life five years ago, Nanase Sakura trained to become a nurse. But when she meets the doctor again and they start working together, she finds Kairi Tendo to be nothing like the man she imagined him to be.

A Tropical Fish Years for Snow by Makoto Hagino
When Konatsu Amano’s dad gets a job overseas, she has to leave the Tokyo life she’s always known and relocate to a small seaside town to stay with her aunt. The move also means starting a new school surrounded by complete strangers, and it’s a lot to handle for a shy, anxious girl who has trouble with change. But on the first day of classes, Konatsu meets an older girl who instantly makes her want to form a connection. Konatsu’s introverted tendencies are hard to overcome, but maybe she’s found something worth coming out of her shell for?

Jujutsu Kaisen by Gege Akutami
In a world where demons feed on unsuspecting humans, fragments of the legendary and feared demon Ryoma Sukuna were lost and scattered about. Should any demon consume Sukuna’s body parts, the power they gain could destroy the world as we know it. Fortunately, there exists a mysterious school of Jujutsu Sorcerers who exist to protect the precarious existence of the living from the undead.

Ema Toyama Publishes a One Shot Manga in Comic Yuri Hime Magazine

The May 2019 issue of Ichijinsha’s Comic Yuri Hime magazine has published a one shot manga titled “Nakasete? Sensei” by Ema Toyama. The manga is Toyama’s first work to appear in the magazine. The story focuses on a romance between a student and a teacher.

Toyama’s works include Missions of Love, Aoba-kun’s Confessions, Manga Dogs, I Am Here!, Shugo Chara-chan!, and Pixie Pop: Gokkun Pucho.

Source: ANN

VIZ Media Adds A Tropical Fish Yearns for Snow Manga and Announces the Re-release of The Drifting Classroom Manga

VIZ Media has announced that it has licensed Makoto Hagino’s A Tropical Fish Yearns for Snow (Nettaigyo ha Yuki ni Kogaeru) manga, and it will re-release Kazuo Umezu’s The Drifting Classroom horror manga.

The company will release A Tropical Fish Yearns for Snow starting in Fall 2019.

Hagino launched the manga in Kadokawa’s Dengeki Maoh magazine in 2017, and Kadokawa published the manga’s fourth compiled volume on January 25, 2019.

VIZ Media previously released The Drifting Classroom from 2006-2008, and released the manga digitally in 2013. The company’s new release of the manga, titled The Drifting Classroom: The Perfect Edition, will be a deluxe hardcover edition and will feature a new translations. VIZ Media will start releasing the manga in Fall 2019.

VIZ Media also revealed that it will release Gege Akutami’s Jujutsu Kaisen manga in print starting this winter. The company published the manga’s first three chapters in English simultaneously with Japan as part of its Jump Start initiative. When the company then switched to its new Shonen Jump model, it began publishing new chapters of the manga digitally. Currently, VIZ Media has published the manga’s first six chapters and chapters 40-50 (the latest chapter) in English.

The company also reconfirmed the announcement last week from its Shojo Beat imprint that it has licensed Maki Enjōji’s An Incurable Case of Love (Koi wa Tsuzuku yo Doko made mo) manga and will release it starting in Fall 2019.

Lastly, VIZ Media announced that it is collaborating with “manga-inspired creators” to develop a new original English-language (OEL) imprint called Viz Originals. The new imprint will debut in 2020. The company has posted a guideline for artists interested in submitting their work.

Source: ANN

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Novels Gets a New Spin-off Manga

Niconico Seiga and Kodansha’s Monthly Shonen Sirus magazine’s “Suiyōbi no Sirius” website is now publishing a new spin-off manga of author Fuse and artist Mitz Vah’s That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime (Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken) light novel series.

Tae Tono is drawing the manga, titled Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken Ibun: Makuni Kurashi no Trinity (That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime Another Story: Trinity of the Magic Kingdom). Tono will publish new chapters on the second and fourth Thursdays of the month.

The manga focuses on Phos, a girl from the Beast Kingdom of Eurazania. Phos goes to Tempest on secret orders from Demon Lord Carrion.

Source: ANN