My Roommate Is a Cat: The Complete Series is a two-disc set that includes all 12 episodes of the series, as well as a couple of bonus features.

My Roommate Is a Cat: The Complete Series
English Publisher: FUNimation Entertainment / Crunchyroll
Format: Blu-ray
Release Date: November 16, 2021

Subaru Mikazuki is an introverted mystery writer. Since he was child, he’s preferred reading books to interacting with other people, which has now made it awkward for him to interact with others as an adult. His parents often went on trips, but Subaru always declined to join them. Right at the beginning of the series, Subaru’s parents are killed in a tour bus crash, leaving him all alone. One day, when he visits his parents’ grave, he puts out a food offering. A stray cat jumps out of hiding and devours the food, and Subaru decides to take the cat home and uses her as an inspiration for his next story. The cat is given the name Haru.

Through flashbacks, we see that Haru led a rough life before being found and taken in by Subaru. She and her four younger siblings were abandoned in a cardboard box, and they learned to survive thanks to training from older stray cats. As time went on, two siblings were taken in by a family, one sibling was killed, and another sibling was separated from Haru and taken in by a young woman named Nana Okami. Nana works at a pet store, and she becomes a source of information and help to Subaru as he adjusts to being with and taking care of Haru.

Other characters introduced in the series are Subaru’s editor, Atsushi Kawase (who is very fond of cats but can’t have one of his own due to his wife’s allergy); Subaru’s childhood friend, Hiroto Yasaka, who often drops by unannounced to drop food off for Subaru; and Yugo Okami, Nana’s younger brother and a fan of Subaru’s work. We also meet Hiroto’s younger siblings, as well as a girl who had regularly fed Haru at her family’s restaurant when the cat was still a stray. I can’t neglect to mention Taro, Subaru’s neighbor’s dog, because he’s a very good boy.

The major focus of My Roommate Is a Cat is on the relationship that develops between Subaru and Haru. While they rarely understand each other, since the cat can’t talk, their misunderstandings usually lead to a common goal. And with Haru entering Subaru’s life, he finds his world expanding thanks to all the people who become involved in his life thanks to Haru.

I found My Roommate Is a Cat to be a pure and wholesome slice-of-life series. While the series doesn’t have a definitive ending, I don’t think a series like this one really needs one, because these 12 episodes perfectly captured the arc of Subaru and Haru becoming a kind of family.

When it comes to this Blu-ray release, it has 1080p High Definition 16:9 (HD Native) video. The audio in the set includes Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1 and Dolby TrueHD: Japanese 2.0. I had no complaints about either the video or the audio quality of this release.

The main bonus feature of this Blu-ray release is a commentary on Episode 12. The commentary features some of the English dub actors, and it’s done where the audio is laid over the footage from the episode. The only other bonus features included on this release are a textless opening and a textless closing.

If you’ve seen and enjoyed My Roommate Is a Cat and want to add it to your anime home video library, this Blu-ray release of My Roommate Is a Cat: The Complete Series is worth picking up.

Additional post about My Roommate Is a Cat: