The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, has announced the nominees of its 50th Annual Annie Awards. Masaaki Yuasa’s Inu-Oh received nominations in the Best Indie Feature and Best Writing – Feature categories. Studio Trigger’s Cyberpunk: Edgerunners was nominated in the Best Storyboarding – TV/Media category. Tatsunoko Production’s Exception anime received a nomination in the Best Direction – TV/Media category.

The Annie Awards recognize outstanding achievement in animation. ASIFA-Hollywood added the Best Animated Independent Feature award for the 2016 awards in order to “recognize not only features in wide release, but also the independent animators, international studios, anime and special productions that might not otherwise get the attention they deserve.” Mamoru Hosoda’s Mirai anime film won the award in 2019.

The awards ceremony for the Anne Awards will take place on February 25, 2023 at UCLA’s Royce Hall.

Source: ANN