Comic-Con International has announced that the Eisner Awards judges have nominated manga creator Moto Hagio to be inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame for a third year in a row. The judges have nominated 17 people, and voters will choose four to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Other nominees for this year include Howard Chaykin, Gerry Conway, Kevin Eastman, Steve Englehart, Larry Hama, Jeffrey Catherine Jones, David Mazzucchelli, Jean-Claude Mézières, Grant Morrison, Gaspar Saladino, Jim Shooter, Garry Trudeau, Ron Turner, George Tuska, Mark Waid, and Cat Yronwode.

Six more individuals were already automatically inducted this year: Max Gaines, Mark Gruenwald, Marie Duval, Rose O’Neill, Alex Nino, and P. Craig Russell.

Hagio is a pioneer of shōjo and shōnen-ai manga, and her works helped establish conventions of these and other fields. Hagio’s They Were Eleven, A Drunken Dream and Other Stories, A,A’, The Heart of Thomas, Otherworld Barbara, and The Poe Clan manga have English releases.

Creative professionals working in the comics or related industries, publishers, editors, retailers (comics store owners or managers), graphic novels librarians, and comics historians/educators can vote for four nominees online by May 11, 2022. The awards ceremony will be held during the Comic-Con International event on July 22, 2022.

Source: ANN