Harvey Awards Induct Rumiko Takahashi Into Its Hall of Fame

The organizers of the Harvey Awards, which honor outstanding work in comics and sequential art, has announced that they will induct manga creator Rumiko Takahashi as one of five new members for their Hall of Fame this year, alongside Bernie Wrightson, Jeffrey Catherine Jones, Barry Windsor-Smith, and Michael Kaluta.

Since making her debut in 1978, Takahashi has created such manga as Urusei Yatsura, Maison Ikkoku, Mermaid Saga, Rumic Theater, Ranma 1/2, One-Pound Gospel, Inuyasha, RIN-NE, and Mao. In her career of over four decades, many of her works have become internationally popular and inspired anime and live-action adaptations. Takahashi’s Inuyasha manga is also inspiring a currently airing anime spin-off titled Yashahime: Princess Half-Demon.

The virtual screening of the Harvey Awards will take place on October 8, 2021 during New York Comic Con.

Source: ANN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.