Toei Animation Commemorates World Trigger Season 2 Premiere With Global Livestream Fan Event on January 30, 2021

On the heels of last week’s worldwide premiere of Season 2, Toei Animation Inc. has released details for its special World Trigger livestream event teased to fans just before Christmas. To celebrate the new season’s launch, Toei Animation will host its first-ever virtual global fan event – the World Trigger Season 2 Global Livestream Watch Party – on Saturday, January 30, 2021 when anime fans across the United States, Canada, Latin America, Australia, New Zealand, and Europe can come together for this special simulcast event on Toei Animation’s U.S. Facebook and YouTube channels. Hosted by social media personalities Justin Rojas and LiSA Wallen, the World Trigger Season 2 Global Livestream Watch Party will include a series introduction and special video message to fans from Japanese cast members Tomo Muranaka (voice of Yūma Kuga), Kenta Tanaka (voice of Sumiharu Inukai), Toshiyuki Toyonaga (voice of Ratarykov) and Ayumu Murase (voice of Reghindetz) followed a screening of World Trigger Season 2 Episodes 1 and 2 (in Japanese with English subtitles) along with post-episode discussions and promotional giveaways. This two-hour fan event starts at 5:00 pm Pacific / 8:00 pm Eastern. International local times include: 7:00 pm Mexico City, 10:00 pm São Paulo, 2:00 am Paris (Sunday) and 12:00 pm Sydney (Sunday). Each episode will be followed by host commentary along with fan giveaways.

Based on the sci-fi action manga serialized by Shueisha, World Trigger was originally released by Toei Animation as a 73-episode series in 2014-2016. For the production of Seasons 2 & 3, Toei Animation has brought together a new series director, Morio Hatano, with the original voice cast and key members of the original staff including Hiroyuki Yoshino (series composition writer for Episodes 1-48), Kenji Kawai (music composer) and Toshihisa Kaiya (character designer).

Season 2 Synopsis:

Border Defence Agency was established to counter the attacks from the “Neighbors,” beings from the other world possessing unknown forces. A low rank Border agent, Osamu Mikumo, teams up with a Neighbor, Yuma Kuga, and a childhood friend, Chika Amatori. They strive to win through the Rank Wars within the Border to be selected for the away squads to the “Neighborhood,” the other world. Meanwhile, another attack from the Neighborhood was detected. Mikado City is still damaged from the second large-scale invasion by the largest military nation, Aftokrator. To prevent panic among the city and citizens, Border arranges a confidential interception based on the foresight of Yuichi Jin by mainly deploying selected A-Rank elite squads. But when a Gate appears, and Attacker rank #1 Kei Tachikawa set to take action, Jin sees an ominous future.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.