Digital Manga Cancels the Release of Seven Bonus Osamu Tezuka Manga Originally Announced with the Wonder 3 Kickstarter

Digital Manga Inc. has announced that it is cancelling publication of the planned seven bonus manga that it originally announced it would publish alongside the release of Osamu Tezuka’s Wonder 3 manga. The bonus manga include The Thief Inoue Akikazu, Yakeppachi’s Maria (omnibus), Dust 8 (omnibus), The Euphrates Tree, Say Hello to Bookila! (omnibus), Metamorphose, and Ambassador Magma (omnibus).

Digital Manga Inc. did state however that it will still publish the Wonder 3 manga in an omnibus format. The company said it is ready to continue with producing the physical version of the manga, and plan to ship it out by the end of the first quarter of 2020.

Digital Manga Inc. also stated that its president Hikaru Sasahara met with Tezuka Productions in November 2019, and Tezuka Productions allowed the company to continue with Wonder 3 but denied production for the other seven manga.

The company will process refunds for those who backed the campaign for the additional seven manga releases, but will still charge for Wonder 3 plus shipping.

Digital Manga Inc. launched the Kickstarter campaign for Wonder 3 in March 2017, and the campaign ended in April 2017 after raising US$82,137.

Source: ANN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.