Winners Announced for the 23rd Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize Awards

The Asahi Shimbun paper has announced the winners for the 23rd Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize awards. The awards commemorate the contributions of the manga pioneer Osamu Tezuka by recognizing the manga that best follow his tradition.

Grand Prize

  • Jitterbug The Forties (Sono Ko, Jiruba) by Shinobu Arima

New Creator Prize

  • Areyo Hoshikuzu by Sansuke Yamada

Short Work Prize

  • Little Miss P (Seiri-chan) by Ken Koyama

The committee also awarded the Special Prize to Takao Saito for his contributions to manga culture over the years. Golgo 13, his seminal work about an assassin for hire, marked its 50th anniversary last year.

This year’s committee – consisting of actress Anne Watanabe; author Kazuki Sakuraba; manga creators Osamu Akimoto, Machiko Satonaka, and Tarō Minamoto; professor and scholar Shōhei Chūjō; manga critic Nobunaga Shinbo; and author and manga researcher Tomoko Yamada – selected 11 nominees from titles recommended by specialists and bookstore employees. To be eligible, the manga had to have had a compiled volume published in 2018.

Asahi Shimbun will host an awards ceremony in Tokyo on June 6, 2019. The Grand Prize winner will receive a bronze statue and 2 million yen (about US$18,000), while the other winners will each receive a bronze statue and 1 million yen (about US$9,000).

Source: ANN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.