Rumiko Takahashi Inducted Into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame

The 2018 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards inducted manga creator Rumiko Takahashi into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame on July 21, 2018. This was Takahashi’s fourth time being nominated for the award, with judges previously nominating her in 2017, 2016, and 2014. Takahashi was nominated alongside 15 others this year.

In her career of over three decades, Takahashi created such manga series as Urusei Yatsura, Maison Ikkoku, Mermaid Saga, Rumic Theater, Ranma 1/2, One-Pound Gospel, Inuyasha, and RIN-NE. Many of her works became internationally popular and inspired anime and live-action adaptations. Her works have a combined 200 million copies in print.

Creative professionals working in the comics or related industries, publishers, editors, retailers (comics store owner or manager), graphic novels librarians, and comics historians/educators voted online for the award.

Source: ANN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.