Golden Kamuy Wins the 22nd Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize’s Top Award

The Asahi Shimbun paper has announced the winners for the 2nd Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize awards:

Grand Prize

  • Golden Kamuy by Satoru Noda

New Creator Prize

  • BEASTARS by Paru Itagaki

Short Work Prize

  • Oya-san to Boku by Tarō Yabe

The committee also awarded the Special Prize to Tetsuya Chiba for his contributions to manga culture over the years.

This year’s committee – consisting of actress Anne Watanabe; author Kazuki Sakuraba; manga creators Osamu Akimoto, Machiko Satonaka and Tarō Minamoto; professor and scholar Shōhei Chūjō; manga editor Haruyuki Nakano; manga critic Nobunaga Shinbo; and author and manga researcher Tomoko Yamada – selected ten nominees from titles recommended by specialists and bookstore employees. To be eligible, the manga had to have had a compiled volume published in 2017.

Asahi Shimbun will host an awards ceremony in Tokyo on June 7, 2018.

Source: ANN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.