Nominees Announced for the 22nd Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize

The Asahi Shimbun paper has announced the 10 nominees for the 22nd Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize. The awards commemorate the contributions of the manga pioneer Osamu Tezuka by recognizing the manga that best follow his tradition.

The 10 nominees are:

  • Arpeggio of Blue Steel by Ark Performance
  • “Utsunuke” Utsu Tunnel o Nuketa Hito-tachi by Keiichi Tanaka
  • At the Mountains of Madness (Kūki no Sanmyaku ni te) by Gou Tanabe and H.P. Lovecraft
  • Golden Kamuy by Satoru Noda
  • Sanju Mariko (Mariko at 80) by Yuki Ozawa
  • Sensei no Shiroi Uso (Teacher’s White Lies) by Akane Torikai
  • Sore de mo Machi wa Mawatteiru by Masakazu Ishiguro
  • Blue Giant by Shinichi Ishizuka
  • Matsumoto by Philippe Nicloux
  • The Promised Neverland by Kaiu Shirai and Posuka Demizu

This year’s committee – consisting of actress Anne Watanabe; author Kazuki Sakuraba; manga creators Osamu Akimoto, Machiko Satonaka and Tarō Minamoto; professor and scholar Shōhei Chūjō; manga editor Haruyuki Nakano; manga critic Nobunaga Shinbo; and author and manga researcher Tomoko Yamada – selected the nominees from titles recommended by specialists and bookstore employees. To be eligible, the manga had to have had a compiled volume published in 2017.

The winners will be announced in Asahi Shimbun in late April 2018, and Asahi Shimbun will host an awards ceremony in Tokyo on June 7, 2018.

Source: ANN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.