Anime DVD Review: Bleach DVD Set 10

Bleach DVD Set 10 is a three disc set that contains 11 episodes. The first two discs in the set have four episodes and bonus features, while the third disc has three episodes and bonus features. The episodes on these discs can be watched either with the English dub or with Japanese audio and English subtitles.

Bleach DVD Set 10
English Publisher: VIZ Media
Format: DVD
Release Date: September 6, 2011

The set picks up right where Set Nine ended, with Uryu in the middle of a battle with Cirucci Sanderwicci. He’s able to use an energy sword called Seele Schneider, which he uses to defend himself against her attacks. By the end of the episode, he is able to defeat her.

Chad is also in the middle of his battle against Gantenbainne Mosqueda. During his battle, his full power awakens and his right arm turns into a giant shield called Brazo Derecho del Gigante. He then transforms his left arm for offense, and he calls it Brazo Izquierdo del Diablo. With his new strength, Chad is able to defeat his enemy. Unfortunately, he then encounters the Espada Nnoitora Gilga, who overpowers Chad and seriously wounds him.

Renji, along with Dondochakka, run into the Espada Szayel Aporro Grantz. When Renji tries using his bankai, it shatters due to Grantz designing the room so it would negate his bankai. Just as it seems Grantz has the upper hand, Uryu and Pesche arrive. Uryu uses his ability to surprise Grantz. This ultimately leads to Renji and Uryu teaming up together to try to take Grantz down, but Grantz is a tougher opponent that they’d bargained for.

I have to say that the battle with Grantz was probably the most frustrating one to appear in this set. There were a couple of times when it seemed like Grantz was finally defeated, but then he stands back up and is still able to fight. This definitely gets the award for being the most drawn out battle in the set, and it doesn’t even finish in Set 10!

Rukia is able to finish off her battle with Aaroniero, but she’s also injured pretty badly. In fact, she’s injured enough that the Arrancar believe she’s dead. When Ulquiorra informs Ichigo that Rukia had died, he doesn’t believe it. The two of them battle, but Ulquiorra gets the upper hand and leaves Ichigo for dead. Grimmjow sneaks Orihime out of the room she’s being kept in and orders her to heal Ichigo so he can fight him. Before she can finish, Ulquiorra arrives and gets into a fight with Grimmjow. Grimmjow uses a special device to trap his opponent in an alternate dimension for a few hours, and Orihime ends up healing Ichigo.

Most of the remaining episodes in the set focus on the battle between Ichigo and Grimmjow, and it also includes a flashback of Grimmjow remembering the time that he was a Hollow. The way the flashback was introduced was a little abrupt, so I wasn’t quite sure what was going on at first. However, once I realized that what I was seeing was a flashback that provides some character development, I was okay with it.

By the end of Set 10, we get to see eight different battles, and all but one are brought to a conclusion by the end of the set. The battle with Grantz, which is the one I was the least interested in, is still going. I’m sorry, but Grantz come across like a major “prissy boy,” especially when he decides he needs to leave to change his clothes because what he was wearing got so tattered and torn during the fight with Renji and Uryu. And I also found myself wondering why Renji and Uryu don’t try to make a break for it while Grantz is gone. But then again, Grantz had his Fracciones around, so they were probably concerned that the Fracciones would attack them if they tried to leave.

Overall, this story arc is still progressing slowly, and it didn’t help that a lot of the episodes on the set relied on a significant amount of backtracking from the episode that precedes it in order to fill time and stretch out the story. Hopefully this story arc will progress a little more in Set 11.

When it comes to the DVD set itself, the omake continue to be cut off from the end of the episodes and only appear as part of the “Omake” special feature that appears on each disc. I’m still disappointed by that, since that means that technically, the episodes on the set aren’t uncut. Hopefully this will be rectified in one of the future box sets for Bleach.

Each disc has Production Art, which is line art of the characters and locations that appear in these episodes. The first disc has 17 pages of art, the second disc has 10 pages, and the third disc has six pages. Each disc also has a “Clean Ending” option in the bonus features.

Each disc also has omake, the exact same “sneak peeks” appear on all three discs, and the “Manga Preview” on each disc has the same six pages of advertisements for VIZ Media’s manga releases.

If you’re a Bleach fan, then you need to get a hold of this set in order to have the episodes that start the new story arc in your anime home video library.

Additional posts about Bleach:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.