The Rune Soldier DVD box set contains all 24 episodes of the series. Each disc contains four episodes and extras. The episodes in the set are available with either an English dub or with the original Japanese language with English subtitles.

Rune Soldier DVD Box Set
English Publisher: Section 23
Format: DVD
Release Date: August 19, 2008

Rune Soldier features three female adventurers, and the male magician that joins their party. Louie is a member of the Magician’s Guild in Ohfun. He’s muscular and a little on the dumb side, and is also the adopted son of the head of the Magician’s Guild. Louie tends to get drunk in bars, chases after girls, and likes to brawl instead of studying magic. He possesses a strong sense of justice, and is loyal to those he considers friends. At first, he makes a very bad impression on the band of female adventurers. However, after he joins them, he treats them as equals, and they start to gain some respect for him.

Melissa is an adventurer and a priestess to Mylee, the god of war. She is naïve and idealistic, and her dream is to serve the hero that Mylee tells her to serve. Melissa becomes very upset when Mylee reveals that her champion is Louie.

Genie is an adventurer and a former soldier of Ohfun. She usually has a cool demeanor, but Louie’s behavior can push her toward violence. Genie is a very skilled warrior, and her favorite weapon is a broadsword that’s about as big as she is.

Merrill is an adventurer, a thief, and has quite an obsession with money. When Merrill isn’t out on an adventure, she is working part time jobs, raising the funds needed for the next adventure, or looking at any scheme to get rich quick.

Ila is a member of the Magician’s Guild, and a friend of Louie’s. She is interested in Louie, and tries to drop hints to him about it. However, their relationship remains platonic. Ila is also highly knowledgeable in magic theory and magical item lore.

The series is set on the continent of Alecrast on a world called Forceli, which is north of Lodoss Island. Rune Soldier is a sibling series to The Record of Lodoss War.

The episodes of the series are either a stand-alone adventure, or a story arc consisting of multiple episodes. The stories tend to focus on the party looking for, finding and participating in an adventure. While this is a fantasy series, there’s also quite a bit of humor as well. There’s also some sexual comedy as well, although no actual nudity is shown on screen. Overall, I found Rune Soldier to be enjoyable, although there are some flaws with the series.

When it comes to the actual DVD set, there are some extras included. You can see the clean opening and clean ending on all six discs in the set. These are versions of the opening and ending that do not have text on them. All six discs also include previews of other properties that ADV Films was promoting at the time the set was released.

The fourth disc in the set also includes the “Gunning for the Guardian” game. The game takes a story from one of the episodes on the disc, where the characters are trying to catch a sea monster. Unfortunately, the interface for the game is rather clunky. You basically choose from one of three different locations on the lake, and it appears to randomly choose what video footage from the English dub version of the episode to use. Personally, I thought this game was rather lame.

I really got the impression that this DVD box set included six discs that had originally been issued separately and packaged them together into one box, and not taking any time or effort to make any changes to the content of the actual discs.

If you’re a fan of Rune Soldier, you will want to acquire this DVD set in order to have all of the episodes. Unfortunately, this box set is now out of print, so I would recommend looking around at various online vendors that sell used DVDs and trying to find the best deal you can for it.

Additional post about Rune Soldier: