The Science Fiction & Fantasy Hall of Fame has announced that it is inducting Studio Ghibli co-founder and Oscar-winning director Hayao Miyazaki this year, alongside artist Frank Frazetta, author Leigh Brackett, author Olaf Stapledon, and director Stanley Kubrick.

The Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 to honor “the lives, work, and ongoing legacies of science fiction and fantasy’s greatest creators”; it’s currently housed at the EMP Museum in Seattle. Previous honorees have included Ray Bradbury, James Cameron, Jean “Moebius” Giraud, Robert A. Heinlein, Ursula K. Le Guin, George Lucas, E.E. Smith, Steven Spielberg, and Jules Verne. Miyazaki is the first Japanese inductee.

Source: ANN