The Inuyasha Fourth Season Box Set includes four DVDs that contain 18 episodes of the series. The first two discs contain five episodes, the third disc contains four episodes, and the fourth disc includes four episodes and the special features.

Inuyasha Fourth Season Box Set
English Publisher: VIZ Media
Format: DVD
Release Date: March 31, 2009

When it comes to this particular season of Inuyasha, most of the episodes didn’t progress the story much, if at all. While some of the episodes in this season were entertaining, they really weren’t important to the overall story. After seeing all the character development and story progression in Season Three, I felt a little let down by Season Four. In a lot of respects, it felt more like a “filler” season than anything else.

There are a three exceptions to the fillers. First, are the episodes “The Female Wolf-Demon and the Lunar Rainbow Promise” and “Koga’s Bride-to-Be.” These episodes introduce Ayame, the granddaughter of the northern wolf yokai tribe. She is searching for Koga, because he is needed to help unite the northern and eastern tribes. Also, Ayame recalls that Koga proposed to marry her during her childhood, so she also has a personal reason to search for him. Koga, of course, doesn’t want to hear it because he’s interested in Kagome.

Next are the two episodes, “The Evil Within Demon’s Head Castle” and “Secret of the Possessed Princess.” These two episodes introduce an old woman named Haori, who introduces herself as a demon exorcist. I used to think that these two episodes were filler, but I found out later that Haori is a little more important than I had thought when I first saw these episodes.

Then there’s “Kikyo’s Lonely Journey.” In this episode, Kikyo meets an old bandit named Rasetsu who explains that he was a criminal 50 years ago. In addition, he tells Kikyo he is the one that Onigumo sent to attack Kikyo and grab the Shikon Jewel. A place that is mentioned in this episode will become important in one of the later seasons of the Inuyasha anime series.

When it comes to the DVD set itself, you can watch the episodes with either the English dub or with the original Japanese audio with English subtitles.

There are a total of three special features that appear on the fourth disc of the set. The first feature is labeled as “Character Introductions.” This is a roughly three-minute piece that introduces the characters of Kagome, Inuyasha, Kikyo, Sesshomaru, Myoga, Shippo, Miroku, Naraku, and Sango (although Sango is never mentioned by name). By seeing the characters that are featured in this piece, as well as the footage used in it, I assume this was put together after the first season of Inuyasha. It feels like this feature was included because they needed something to fill out the special features menu and it was something that they had not included on the previous three season box sets. Also, this allowed VIZ to say that there are three special features in this set instead of two.

The next feature is “Textless Openings.” These are textless versions of both of the openings that appear on this box set, and they are put back-to-back as one piece. However, the textless version of the first opening already appeared on the box set for the third season, so it felt a little redundant to include it here as well.

The last feature is “Textless Endings.” Just like the “Textless Openings,” this includes textless versions of both of the endings that appear on this set. The textless version of the first ending already appeared on the box set for Season Three, so this felt just as redundant as the opening that had also been included in the third season box set.

If you’re a fan of Inuyasha and want to have all of the episodes on DVD, then you need to acquire this set in order to have the complete series in your home video library. Even though the majority of this set includes filler material, some of the early episodes in this set are important for events that take place later in the series.

Additional posts about Inuyasha: